Community Races – Mini Fastnet by Sailaway Communaute Francophone

Bonjour Pioneers,

The French Sailaway community have been very busy and have organised a gruelling 6-day solo race kicking off this Sunday!

This is a solo-only race using the Mini Transat. To take part, player’s will need to register with Sailaway Communaute Francophone via their site and join their discord group – instructions of how to do so and more about this race can be found here.
Community

Mini Fastnet

Sunday 18th June – 16:00 CEST / 15:00 BST / 07:00 PDT / 23:00 JST
Est. Race Distance:
600NM
Est. Race Time: 6 days
Boat: Mini Transat
Weather report: ☀️ https://on.windy.com/6d2h

Starting at Douarnenez in France, you will race past England and on to the south coast of Ireland, around Fastnet Rock and then back to to Douarnenez to finish.

This race is organised by a community group and hence is governed by their rules. There will not be a course laid out in Sailaway but rather your progress needs to be validated manually by yourself or a nearby competitor. See the race page using the link above for more information or ask someone from the community.

As it is managed and created by the community, please get in touch with the organisers here if you have any questions of problems.

Share your progress on Twitter and Facebook, and the Steam Forums – we’d love to hear what you think and how you got on!

Enjoy and safe sailing!

The Sailaway Team

Weekend Races – Race around the beautiful Island of Bermuda in this 18 hour Long Race!

Hello Pioneers!

Here are this weekend’s races! These races will appear in the main menu when you launch Sailaway.

This weekend the long race is taking you to Bermuda, where day 1 of the three-day Louis Vuitton America’s Cup Challenger Playoffs Finals are taking place!

Remember, if you don’t want to sail alone, you can look for a crew in the Multiplayer Forum, there are plenty of sailors looking for crew members or boats to sail with. Perhaps some of you more experienced sailors could team up with newbies and spread the knowledge?

 

Long Races

 

Bermuda Long Race

Saturday 10th June – 19:00 BST / 11:00 PDT / 20:00 CEST / 03:00 JST
Est. Race Distance: 90NM
Est. Race Time: 18 hours
Boat: Sailaway Cruiser
Weather report: 🌦️ https://on.windy.com/5cs4

Race around the island of Bermuda where there’s a big sailing competition on this weekend!
Badge:

 

Short Races

 

Wellington Short Race

Sunday 11th June – 05:00 BST / 21:00 PDT (Sat 3rd) / 06:00 CEST / 13:00 JST
Est. Race Distance: 4NM
Est. Race Time: 30mins
Boat: Mini Transat
Weather report: ☀️ https://on.windy.com/5da9

Get competitive in the New Zealand capital.

Gibraltar Short Race

Sunday 11th June – 13:00 BST / 05:00 PDT / 14:00 CEST / 21:00 JST
Est. Race Distance: 4NM
Est. Race Time: 30mins
Boat: Mini Transat
Weather report: 🌤️ https://on.windy.com/5d1g

Race where Europe almost meets Africa in the Strait of Gibraltar.

Hamilton Short Race

Sunday 11th June – 21:00 BST / 13:00 PDT / 22:00 CEST / 05:00 JST
Est. Race Distance: 4NM
Est. Race Time: 30mins
Boat: Mini Transat
Weather report: 🌦️ https://on.windy.com/5ctb

Do your best in the bay of Bermuda where there’s the final of a very famous race this weekend.

Share your progress on Twitter and Facebook, and the Steam Forums – we’d love to hear what you think and how you got on!

Enjoy and safe sailing!

The Sailaway Team

Weekend Races – The Howth Regatta Long Race

Hello Pioneers!

Here are this weekend’s races! These races will appear in the main menu when you launch Sailaway.

We’re delighted to announce that this week’s Long Race is the Howth Regatta Long Race which is taking place this weekend in the Irish Sea. The Howth Yacht Club have also been kind enough to let us use their official logo as the completion badge for this race!

Remember, if you don’t want to sail alone, you can look for a crew in the Multiplayer Forum, there are plenty of sailors looking for crew members or boats to sail with. Perhaps some of you more experienced sailors could team up with newbies and spread the knowledge?

 

Long Races

 

Howth Regatta Long Race

Saturday 3rd June – 11:00 BST / 03:00 PDT / 12:00 CEST / 19:00 JST
Est. Race Distance: 121NM
Est. Race Time: 24 hours
Boat: Sailaway Cruiser
Weather report: ⛅ https://on.windy.com/43r7

Race across the Irish Sea from the Isle of Man, around Lambay Island (where the Howth Regatta is being held this weekend sponsored by Michael JF Wright) and finishing at Holyhead in Wales.
Badge:

 

Short Races

 

Laptev Strait Short Race

Sunday 4th June – 05:00 BST / 21:00 PDT (Sat 3rd) / 06:00 CEST / 13:00 JST
Est. Race Distance: 4NM
Est. Race Time: 30mins
Boat: Mini Transat
Weather report: 🌧️ https://on.windy.com/43tu

Race in sub-zero temperatures at the New Siberian Islands in the Russian Arctic Tundra.

 

Lambay Island Short Race

Sunday 4h June – 13:00 BST / 05:00 PDT / 14:00 CEST / 21:00 JST
Est. Race Distance: 4NM
Est. Race Time: 30mins
Boat: Mini Transat
Weather report: 🌧️ https://on.windy.com/43t5

Take on the competition off the coast of Ireland. The Howth Regatta sponsored by Michael JF Wright is at Lambay this weekend so pop over if you’re nearby!

 

Galapagos Islands Short Race

Sunday 4th June – 21:00 BST / 13:00 PDT / 22:00 CEST / 05:00 JST
Est. Race Distance: 4NM
Est. Race Time: 30mins
Boat: Mini Transat
Weather report: ☀️ https://on.windy.com/46n9

Sail your hardest as you race around the famous Ecuadorian islands!

Share your progress on Twitter and Facebook, and the Steam Forums – we’d love to hear what you think and how you got on!

Enjoy and safe sailing!

The Sailaway Team

Weekend Races – Explore the magical islands around Koh Samui, Thailand, and earn a race completion badge!

Hello Pioneers!

Here are this weekend’s races! These races will appear in the main menu when you launch Sailaway.

We’re trialling different time zones and locations to include as many of our players as possible. There will be more added soon! Also you may have noticed that you can now earn badges for races completed – the first of the long race badges can be earned this weekend.

Remember, if you don’t want to sail alone, you can look for a crew in the Multiplayer Forum, there are plenty of sailors looking for crew members or boats to sail with. Perhaps some of you more experienced sailors could team up with newbies and spread the knowledge?

 

Long Races

 

Koh Samui Islands Long Race

Saturday 27th May – 03:00 BST /19:00 (Friday 26th) PDT / 04:00 CEST
Est. Race Distance: 140NM
Est. Race Time: 23 hours
Boat: Sailaway Cruiser
Weather report: ⛅ https://on.windy.com/31da

Race around the magical islands around Koh Samui, Thailand. There’s a Regatta there this weekend in the real world so pop over if you’re nearby!
Badge:

 

Short Races

 

Koh Samui Short Race

Sunday 28th May – 05:00 BST / 21:00 PDT (Sat 21st) / 06:00 CEST / 13:00 JST
Est. Race Distance: 4NM
Est. Race Time: 30mins
Boat: Mini Transat
Weather report: ⛅ https://on.windy.com/3199

Join the fun at the Thai island of Ko Samui. There is a Regatta there this weekend so if you’re in the area why no pop over!

Constanta Short Race

Sunday 28th May – 13:00 BST / 05:00 PDT / 14:00 CEST
Est. Race Distance: 4NM
Est. Race Time: 30mins
Boat: Mini Transat
Weather report: ☀️ https://on.windy.com/31ad

Take on the competition in the Black Sea, near the Romanian city of Constanta.

St Kitts Short Race

Sunday 28th May – 21:00 BST / 13:00 PDT / 22:00 CEST
Est. Race Distance: 4NM
Est. Race Time: 30mins
Boat: Mini Transat
Weather report: 🌦️ https://on.windy.com/31bv

Have a rum old time in the Caribbean, off the coast of St Kitts and Nevis.

Share your progress on Twitter and Facebook, and the Steam Forums – we’d love to hear what you think and how you got on!

 

Enjoy and safe sailing!

The Sailaway Team

Weekend Races – Challenge yourself in the 32 hour race to Eureka or try one of these three short races

Hello Pioneers!

Here are this weekend’s races, complete with weather and wind forecasts! These races will appear in the main menu when you launch Sailaway.

Remember, if you don’t want to sail alone, you can look for a crew in the Multiplayer Forum, there are plenty of sailors looking for crew members or boats to sail with. Perhaps some of you more experienced sailors could team up with newbies and spread the knowledge?

 


Long Races

 

Eureka Long Race

Saturday 20th May – 19:00 BST /11:00 PDT / 20:00 CEST
Est. Race Distance: 195NM
Est. Race Time: 32 hours
Boat: Sailaway Cruiser
Weather report: ⛈️ https://on.windy.com/2at4

Race from San Francisco to the City of Eureka. There’s meant to be a big storm so pack your waterproofs!

 

Short Races

 

Okinawa Short Race

Sunday 21st May – 05:00 BST / 21:00 PDT (Sat 21st) / 06:00 CEST / 13:00 JST
Est. Race Distance: 4NM
Est. Race Time: 30mins
Boat: Mini Transat
Weather report: ⛅ https://on.windy.com/2art

Sail your hardest off the shore of Okinawa.

Linosa Island Short Race

Sunday 21st May – 13:00 BST / 05:00 PDT / 14:00 CEST
Est. Race Distance: 4NM
Est. Race Time: 30mins
Boat: Mini Transat
Weather report: ☀️ https://on.windy.com/2arr

Enjoy the Mediterranean sun near the beautiful island of Linosa.

Havana Short Race

Sunday 21st May – 21:00 BST / 13:00 PDT / 22:00 CEST
Est. Race Distance: 4NM
Est. Race Time: 30mins
Boat: Mini Transat
Weather report: 🌤️ https://on.windy.com/2arl

Take on your friends off the coast of Cuba.

Share your progress on Twitter and Facebook, and the Steam Forums – we’d love to hear what you think and how you got on!

Enjoy and safe sailing!

The Sailaway Team