Sail Ho! Ho! Ho! – Sailaway Christmas Weekend Races!

Hello Pioneers!

Since this is the last set of weekend races for the year we though we’d make them a little more festive. 🎅 Just look at the image that’l appear on the in-game race menu!

De Kerstboom Long Race

Saturday 23rd December – 10:00 GMT / 11:00 CET / 02:00 PST / 19:00 JST
Est Distance: 150 NM
Est Time: 30 hours
Weather report: 🌤️ More detail[on.windy.com]

Merry Christmas! As the last race of the year we thought we’d get festive with a big Christmas tree, except we’re using tacking rather than tinsel! 🎄

Christmas Island Medium Race

Sunday 24th December – 04:00 GMT / 05:00 CET / (Saturday 23rd) 20:00 PST / 13:00 JST
Est Distance: 15 NM
Est Time: 3 hours
Weather report: 🌤️ More detail[on.windy.com]

Continuing the festive theme, we’re racing around a (sort of) crown at the aptly named Christmas Island.

Natal Short Race

Sunday 24th December – 20:00 GMT / 21:00 CET / 12:00 PST / (Monday 25th) 05:00 JST
Est Distance: 5 NM
Est Time: 50 mins
Weather report: 🌤️ More detail[on.windy.com]

This week we’re near the Brazilian city of Natal – which translates as Christmas in Portuguese!

Remember, if you don’t want to sail alone, you can look for a crew in the Multiplayer Forum, there are plenty of sailors looking for crew members or boats to sail with. Perhaps some of you more experienced sailors could team up with newbies and spread the knowledge?

Share your progress on Twitter and Facebook, and the Steam Forums – we’d love to hear what you think and how you got on!

Enjoy and Happy Holidays!

The Sailaway Team

Development Update – Steam Workshop and a new boat in progress!

Hello Pioneers,

Today we have a development update for you.

We wanted to share early work on the model for the brand new boat that is currently being worked on, this boat will be smaller and easier to learn to sail in and will make it an excellent choice for those of you new to the game and those mentoring new players. The design is inspired by the Nordic Folkboat which was first built in Gothenburg, Sweden in 1942 and quickly became popular for long distance sailing due to its affordability and seaworthiness.

Click to enlarge
    

Work is also being done to integrate Steam Workshop into Sailaway! You will be able to upload and share your own designs for sails and liveries as well as use those shared by others. Both of these updates will be coming early in 2018!

We hope that you all have a fantastic festive period! Merry Christmas and a happy New Year from all of us on the Sailaway team!

Happy Sailing!

The Sailaway Team

P.S. As the team will be away for the holidays, there will be no weekend races for the last weekend of 2017. Make sure to check out the community races if you’re looking for a challenge!


Weekend Races – A trip around the Chinese Temple Islands

Hello Pioneers,

Here are this weekend’s races!

Remember, if you don’t want to sail alone, you can look for a crew in the Multiplayer Forum, there are plenty of sailors looking for crew members or boats to sail with. Perhaps some of you more experienced sailors could team up with newbies and spread the knowledge?

Long Race


Changshan Islands Long Race

Saturday 16th December – 03:00 GMT / 04:00 CEST / (Friday 15th) 19:00 PDT / 11:00 JST
Est. Race Distance: 155NM
Est. Race Time: 31 Hours
Weather report: ☁️ More detail[on.windy.com]

A race around these beautiful Chinese islands, known locally as the “Temple Islands”.

Medium Race

 

Alexander Selkirk Medium Race

Sunday 17th December – 20:00 UTC / 22:00 CEST / 13:00 PDT / (Monday 18th) 05:00 JST
Est Distance: 15 NM
Est Time: 3 hours
Weather report: 🌤️ More detail[on.windy.com]

A race around the Chilean island where the Scottish sailor, and likely inspiration for Robinson Crusoe, was marooned in 1700’s.

Short Race

 

Den Haag Short Race

Sunday 17th December – 12:00 UTC / 14:00 CEST / 05:00 PDT / 21:00 JST
Est Distance: 5 NM
Est Time: 50 mins
Weather report: 🌤️ More detail[on.windy.com]

This week we’re near the Dutch city of The Hague.

Share your progress on Twitter and Facebook, and the Steam Forums – we’d love to hear what you think and how you got on!

Enjoy and safe sailing!

The Sailaway Team


Weekend Races – In and Out of the Bahía Blanca in Argentina

Hello Pioneers,

Finally here are this weekend’s races, sorry for the wait!

We love hearing about what you’re up to, let us know how your race is going on the forums or on twitter @SailawayWorld!

 

Long Race

Bahía Blanca Long Race

Saturday 9th December – 18:00 UTC / 20:00 CEST / 11:00 PDT / (Sunday 10th) 03:00 JST
Est Distance: 125 NM
Est Time: 25 hours
Weather report:⛅ More detail[on.windy.com]

A race around the “White Bay” near the important port of Bahía Blanca in Eastern Argentina.
Badge:

 

Medium Race

Isle of White Medium Race

Sunday 10th December – 12:00 UTC / 14:00 CEST / 05:00 PDT / 21:00 JST
Est Distance: 15 NM
Est Time: 3 hours
Weather report: ⛈️ More detail[on.windy.com]

A big storm is heading into Europe and we’re trying to get to the safety of Southampton harbour before it gets too bad!

 

Short Race

Chittagong Short Race

Sunday 10th December – 04:00 UTC / 06:00 CEST / (Saturday 9th) 21:00 PDT / 13:00 JST
Est Distance: 5 NM
Est Time: 50 mins
Weather report: ⛅ More detail[on.windy.com]

This week we’re in near the large Bangladeshi port of Chittagong.

Enjoy and safe sailing!

The Sailaway Team

Weekend Races – Take on the rough sea around the Shetland Isles in this weekend’s long race!

Hello Pioneers,

Here are this weekend’s races!

Remember, if you don’t want to sail alone, you can look for a crew in the Multiplayer Forum, there are plenty of sailors looking for crew members or boats to sail with. Perhaps some of you more experienced sailors could team up with newbies and spread the knowledge?

Long Race

 

Shetland Isles Long Race

Saturday 2nd December – 10:00 GMT / 11:00 CST / 03:00 PDT / 19:00 JST
Est. Race Distance: 220NM
Est. Race Time: 28 hours
Weather report:⛅ More detail[on.windy.com]

A very stormy race from the Faroe Islands to the Shetland Isles with extreme winds and waves – just try and survive!
Badge:

Medium Race

 

Northern Mariana Islands Medium Race

Sunday 3rd December – 04:00 GMT / 05:00 CET / (Saturday 2nd) 21:00 PDT / 13:00 JST
Est. Race Distance: 15NM
Est. Race Time: 3 Hours
Weather report: ⛈️ More detail[on.windy.com]

A tricky in-and-out course between the islands of Northern Mariana.

Short Race

 

Lima Short Race

Sunday 3rd December – 20:00 GMT / 21:00 CET / 13:00 PDT / (Monday 4th) 05:00 JST
Est. Race Distance: 5NM
Est. Race Time: 50 mins
Weather report: ⛅ More detail[on.windy.com]

This week we’re near the Peruvian capital of Lima.

Share your progress on Twitter and Facebook, and the Steam Forums – we’d love to hear what you think and how you got on!

Enjoy and safe sailing!

The Sailaway Team