Weekend Races – Race around the beautiful Loyalty Islands in the Coral Sea

Hello Pioneers,

Here are this weekend’s races! The îles Loyauté long race kicks off tonight in the US so make sure you’re ready.

Remember, if you don’t want to sail alone, you can look for a crew in the Multiplayer Forum, there are plenty of sailors looking for crew members or boats to sail with. Perhaps some of you more experienced sailors could team up with newbies and spread the knowledge?

Long Race

 

îles Loyauté Long Race

Saturday 25th November – 02:00 GMT / 04:00 CEST / (Friday 24th)18:00 PST / 11:00 JST
Est. Race Distance: 160NM
Est. Race Time: 32 hours
Weather report:⛅ More detail[on.windy.com]

A round-and-half-back race through the French Loyalty Islands. The weather is set to remain pretty constant so route planning should be a bit easier.
Badge:

Medium Race

 

Isla Colón Medium Race

Sunday 26th November – 20:00 GMT / 22:00 CEST / 12:00 PST / 13:00 JST
Est. Race Distance: 20NM
Est. Race Time: 2 Hours
Weather report: 🌦️ More detail[on.windy.com]

Race around the Panamanian island of Colon, once a haven for Pirates.

Short Race

 

Dar es Salaam Short Race

Sunday 26th November – 12:00 GMT / 14:00 CEST / 04:00 PST / 21:00 JST
Est. Race Distance: 5NM
Est. Race Time: 50 mins
Weather report: 🌦️ More detail[on.windy.com]

This week we’re off the former Tanzanian capital of Dar es Salaam.

Share your progress on Twitter and Facebook, and the Steam Forums – we’d love to hear what you think and how you got on!

Enjoy and safe sailing!

The Sailaway Team

Sailaway Update V.0.9.027 – More hot keys plus controller support!

Hello Pioneers,

Updates have been on the quiet side recently due to ongoing work getting the new game server up and running but this is coming along well and hopefully soon we can move everyone over to it.

In the meantime we have just added the following new features:

Extra Hot Keys

A much requested feature since we initially released key customisation was to add a key for every line on a boat, this is now the case so you should be able to assign your controls just as you like.

Controller Support

Along with the extra keys to customise, this menu also allows you to assign controller axis and buttons to various controls for the game.
We have tested this controller support with various controllers we have available but as ever please report any problems you may come across.

In addition, the team has been reviewing what is and isn’t achievable between now and the v1.0 launch of Sailaway and updated the roadmap accordingly, there is now a number of new features listed that we are aiming to implement before this launch.

As always If you have a bug you’d like to report, please follow the guide for ‘how to report a bug’and post a new thread in the Bug Reporting Forum.

Happy Sailing,

The Sailaway Team

This Weekend’s Races – Out In The Open Sea

Hello Pioneers,

Here are the weekend races!

This week’s long race is out in the Pacific Ocean with no land to help guide you – as ever, keep an eye on the weather and see if you can spot an advantageous route!

 

Long Race

South Pacific Long Race

Saturday 18th November – 18:00 UTC / 20:00 CEST / 11:00 PDT / (Sunday 19th) 03:00 JST
Est Distance: 155 NM
Est Time: 31 hours
Weather report:☀️ More detail[on.windy.com]

A race in the middle of nowhere with no land to guide you. Watch out for the big waves and keep an eye on the weather!
Badge:

 

 

Medium Race

Insel Fehmarn Medium Race

Sunday 19th November – 12:00 UTC / 14:00 CEST / 05:00 PDT / 21:00 JST
Est Distance: 30 NM
Est Time: 6 hours
Weather report: ☁️ More detail[on.windy.com]

A longer race this week around the German island of Fehmarn. The wind is supposed to die down a bit as you go but have your reefs at the ready.

 

 

Short Race

Rapu-Rapu Island Short Race

Sunday 19th November – 04:00 UTC / 06:00 CEST / (Saturday 18th) 21:00 PDT / 13:00 JST
Est Distance: 5 NM
Est Time: 50 mins
Weather report: ☀️ More detail[on.windy.com]

This week we’re off the coast of the beautiful island of Rapu-Rapu in the Philippines.

 

Please remember that Sailaway is in Early Access and you may experience bugs during races. We’re doing our best to address any reported issues, but some take longer to fix than others.

Share your progress on Twitter and Facebook, and the Steam Forums – we’d love to hear what you think and how you got on!

Enjoy and safe sailing!

The Sailaway Team

This Weekend’s Races – Find The Wind To Tripoli!

Hello Pioneers,

Here are this weekend’s races!

 

This week’s long race is taking place across a tricky weather system so make sure to look at how the wind will change to keep yourself moving (try using windy.com, the link is below) – the shortest route is not always the fastest.

 

Long Race

Tripoli Long Race

Saturday 11th November – 10:00 UTC / 12:00 CEST / 03:00 PDT / 19:00 JST
Est Distance: 185 NM
Est Time: 27 hours
Weather report:☀️ More detail[on.windy.com]

A tricky weather front is moving between Malta and Libya so do your homework on what’s going to happen or risk being stuck in the doldrums!

Badge:


 

Medium Race

Samoa Medium Race

Sunday 12th November – 04:00 UTC / 06:00 CEST / (Saturday 11th) 21:00 PDT / 13:00 JST
Est Distance: 15 NM
Est Time: 3 hours
Weather report: ☁️ More detail[on.windy.com]

A Z shaped course with two upwind sections, time to get your tack on!

 

Short Race

Houston Short Race

Sunday 12th November – 20:00 UTC / 22:00 CEST / 13:00 PDT / (Monday 13th) 05:00 JST
Est Distance: 5 NM
Est Time: 50 mins
Weather report: ☀️ More detail[on.windy.com]

This week we’re in the Gulf of Mexico, off the coast of Houston, Texas.

Please remember that Sailaway is in Early Access and you may experience bugs during races. We’re doing our best to address any reported issues, but some take longer to fix than others.

Share your progress on Twitter and Facebook, and the Steam Forums – we’d love to hear what you think and how you got on!

Enjoy and safe sailing!

The Sailaway Team

Weekend Races – Race in the newly updated US Great Lakes

Hello Pioneers,

Here are this weekend’s races!

The Apostle Islands Medium Race takes place in the US great lakes that have just been remapped to be more accurate! Also, the Short Race should take place during the sunrise to welcome in the new sunrise/sunset functionality on the map.

Remember, if you don’t want to sail alone, you can look for a crew in the Multiplayer Forum, there are plenty of sailors looking for crew members or boats to sail with. Perhaps some of you more experienced sailors could team up with newbies and spread the knowledge?

Long Race

 

Turtle Head Island Long Race

Saturday 2nd November – 02:00 GMT / 03:00 CET / 19:00 PDT / (Friday 3rd) 03:00 JST
Est. Race Distance: 155NM
Est. Race Time: 33 hours
Weather report:☀️ More detail[on.windy.com]

Make your way through the reefs of northern Australia, watch out for the shallow spots!
Badge:

Medium Race

 

Apostle Islands Medium Race

Sunday 5th November – 20:00 GMT / 21:00 CET / 13:00 PDT / (Moday 6th) 13:00 JST
Est. Race Distance: 15NM
Est. Race Time: 3 Hours
Weather report: ☁️ More detail[on.windy.com]

A race through the newly mapped islands of Lake Superior. North America has recently been remapped and is more accurate than ever!

Short Race

 

Salina Cruz Sunrise Short Race

Sunday 5th November – 12:00 GMT / 13:00 CET / 05:00 PDT / 21:00 JST
Est. Race Distance: 5NM
Est. Race Time: 50mins
Weather report: ☀️ More detail[on.windy.com]

To celebrate our new day/night cycle on the map, this week we’re racing at sunrise off the coast of Mexico – let us know what you think!

Please remember that Sailaway is in Early Access and you may experience bugs during races. We’re doing our best to address any reported issues, but some take longer to fix than others.

Share your progress on Twitter and Facebook, and the Steam Forums – we’d love to hear what you think and how you got on!

Enjoy and safe sailing!

The Sailaway Team